Oh to be young again

Mackenzie McDonald visits the Wilson tennis players suite

Mackenzie McDonald visits the Wilson tennis players suite

Well, it’s Sunday and I am in pain. While the Tour Team is still busting it in Paris, I am back in Chicago trying to recover from my 5k run yesterday. For not training and being about 10+ lbs. overweight, it didn’t go too badly…. I finished in 26:11 and had a great time in the city with ‘Chicago family’ Cy, Kenny, Cory, Laura & Holli after the run… thank you again for everyone’s great support!🙂

This is one of the 1st times I have missed the juniors in Paris since coming to Wilson and I have to admit, I miss it. I really like working with the kids and seeing their progress from 12’s to 14’s to playing junior slams, then to the pros. There is something very special about seeing the development of a player and seeing what it takes to move onto the the pro level.

I am hanging on my couch watching one of our young players David Goffin take on his childhood hero Roger Federer now… it was only a couple of years ago when David was playing juniors…..and now he made his way through qualies, all the way into the 4th round of the main draw!!! He has improved leaps and bounds and it’s so great to see him come into his own. Last year, we were talking about Milos Raonic in the same way… you never know when the breakthrough will happen and for me that is the most fun part to see.

I can’t wait to see how our young players will get through the tournament… keep an eye out for Kyle Edmund, Francoise Abanda, Filip Peliwo, Mackie McDonald, Genie Bouchard and many more….

Go Wilson team!!

Until later,

Tracy

PS Thanks to Mario for the pics of some of our kids visiting the suite!

Filip Peliwo getting a new Wilson tennis bag at the Paris suite

Filip Peliwo getting a new Wilson tennis bag at the Paris suite

Dash for Detection Run complete!!

Dash for Detection Run complete!!

2 responses to “Oh to be young again

  1. Anabel Aguilar-Ramirez

    Hi! Excellent article i wish i could be there in Junior Roland Garros some day! I am an 11 years old girl from Mexico and i am being sponsored by Wilson Mexico, they look at me as last year i was ranked as the # 1 player in Mexico for the 10 and under category, they gave me 2 Wilson Pro Staff 100 racquets, a racquet bag similar to the one used by Serena, this is great gear my game improved a lot with this new equipment!!! Now i am playing 12 and under category is a little bit harder but doing great with my Wilson equipment, many thanks Wilson you are the best ones!!!
    Sincerely,
    Anabel🙂

Leave a Reply

