Krajinovic moves onto his 1st ATP Tour semifinal in Belgrade

Filip Krajinovic uses the Wilson Blade 98 tennis racket

Krajinovic moves onto his 1st ATP Tour semifinal in Belgrade

18 year old Filip Krajinovic reaches his first ATP Tour semifinals at the Serbian Open after winning the first set 6-4 against fellow Serbian Djokovic and then Djokovic retired citing breathing problems.

“It’s unfortunate Novak had to retire,” said Krajinovic. “But I am looking forward to my semis match.”

On Saturday, Krajinovic will play third-seeded Querrey for a spot in the final.

Krajinovic has been finding his way on the ATP Tour this year, as he has reached the semifinals of several ATP Challenger events, defeated former Roland Garros Champion Gaston Gaudio in Indian Wells and stretched former top 10 player James Blake to three sets in Miami.  

When asked about his recent surge, Krajinovic said, “It’s always good to know I am doing all I can and have everything I need to try to reach my goals. I have a great support team around me, from my coach to my agent to the team at Wilson. I love my Wilson Blade racket and I hope I can extend my run here at the Serbia Open.”

To get to know a little more about this rising star, we asked Filip Krajinovic 5 questions.

5 Questions with Filip Krajinovic

What shot feels most natural to you? My groundies

Off Court, what activities make you feel alive?   Hang out with friends, dinners at good restaurants, especially Italian food

Name something you secretly enjoy, but hate to admit    I love sleeping in, but don’t get too as much as I’d like since training & practicing gets in the way!

What makes you feel unique?   From a very young age, I knew what I wanted. I’ve set a goal and am doing everything I can to try and achieve it.

If your house was on fire, and you could only grab three things before you left, what would they be?   Blackberry, my laptop and my passport, I’ll have to go somewhere to get away from the fire!!

Leave a Reply

