Lester Cook Blog- On the road to OZ

 

Happy new year to everyone.

I am beginning 2010 in Noumea, New Caledonia which is an island North of Australia where there is a challenger this week which is a warmup tournament for the Australian Open.

I left Los Angeles on the 30th of December and arrived in Noumea on January 1st so my new years was spent on a plane, one of many small sacrifices you make for being a pro tennis player.

Today I played my first round match against Marco Crugnola from Italy.

The conditions here are very hot and humid so I was very positive coming into the match because I knew all the hard work I have been putting in this off season would pay off in hot conditions where conditioning plays a big part. We played a very right match but in the end I didn’t come out on top; I lost 6-3 2-6 6-7. It was a very dissapointing loss but I can come away with a lot of positives going into my next tournament which is the Australian Open qualifying.

Although I had a tough singles loss today I had to come back in the afternoon and play doubles. I am playing with Kyu Tae Im from Korea and we played well together and won 6-2 6-3. So now I will get some good practice, play some more doubles matches and get ready for Australia. Wish me luck.

Lester Cook

Leave a Reply

