Wilson Tour Team player Lester Cook Blogs

Lester Cook uses the Wilson K Blade 98 racket

Hello to all fellow Wilson racquet sports lovers !! My name is Lester Cook and I am a touring tennis professional from Los Angeles, CA.

Wilson has asked me to blog about my adventures and travels this year and I am very excited to share my stories with you. I am 25 years old and currently ranked 225 ATP in singles and 185 ATP in doubles. I have just returned from a trip to Atlanta, GA where I was invited by the USTA to particpate in an Australian Open Wild Card playoff. They invited 8 of the top American Pro’s to play in a mini tournament where the winner would get a Wild Card into the main draw of the Australian Open (every year the USA and Australia trade a WC into eachother’s Grand Slam)

Unfortunately, I was outed in the first round against a fellow Wilson player Michael McClune. It was a last minute invitation and I did not feel like I had enough time to train and be ready for the tournament. But the good news is that I am still in the qualifying of the Australian Open and that is where I will be starting my year.
In the meantime, I have started my off season training at the USTA national training center in Carson, CA. There is always good coaches, trainers and good players around for me to get my necessary playing time in. I am currently writing this blog in a state of fear that my legs will begin to cramp again, thanks Rodney!! But this is the type of training necessary if I am going to be ready for the hot conditions down in Australia and not to mention the rest of the year.

Tomorrow, I will be training with the guy who knocked me out of the Wild Card tournament in Atlanta, Michael McClune. I guess I should run him around for some payback. Wish me luck.
Lester Cook

Lester Cook’s website

One response to “Wilson Tour Team player Lester Cook Blogs

  1. It looks like the off season was really short. Hopefully you did get some rest and are now more positive and optimistic. Work hard on that backhand and I’m sure you’ll get even better results in 2010.

    Looking forward to see you play again,

    Elise

Leave a Reply

